NIGHT BLOOMING CEREUS!


 

I cried silently in melancholy

on banks of  a river

playing with the pebbles nearby

shedding the precious  tears…

 

Few of the sparkling beads

got trickled in the water

diffusing scent of passionate love

in the zephyr…

 

Like incense , redolent fragrance

vaporized in the air

seeing the luminous crescent

radiating in the flowing river…

 

Blushed I , the bride for a night

awaiting her effulgent lover

a glimpse of whom

surged my feelings upheaval!

 

Smiled the king of my life

when the waves stirred

beckoning my love with embrace

proclaims me as the night princess.

 

Here I come O! my love!

Cereus ,am I called,

For a night, I bloom ,

To be with you till the day dawns!

 

Behold ! for I dance for a night

swaying with my lover

the ardous scene would compel

you ,to drink the drops of nectar…

 

Of glossy shine ,petals divine

in zeal I bask,without fear,

tho’  I know

Iam Cereus ,the night blooming flower

who blossoms in  nightime,

as crown of Nox,

only once a year!

 

PHOTOCREDIT:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Night-blooming_cereus_paniniokapunahoa.jpg#file

800px-Night-blooming_cereus_paniniokapunahoa

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

47 thoughts on “NIGHT BLOOMING CEREUS!

    • soumyav May 28, 2013 / 6:24 pm

      Hi Kevin! Hope ur fine .It is really good to see you back.

      • 4valentines4words4poetry4you May 29, 2013 / 3:34 am

        well hello my friend iam back becuase my marriage ended again for reasons i am not fully sure which got me writing last month again .yes its lovely to see you aswell iam not to bad iam bouncing back again thankyou I hope your well

        • soumyav May 29, 2013 / 9:54 am

          Oh ! Ths very sad to know! May god bless you !

          • 4valentines4words4poetry4you May 29, 2013 / 3:11 pm

            hes done it for a god reason i have this strong feeling theres something better coming in my life.had this feeling since it all happened..thankyou for your kindness i hope he looks after you too

  1. pseudomonaz May 28, 2013 / 5:31 pm

    Beautiful words..and a very beautiful picture.🙂 Loved it..

    • soumyav May 28, 2013 / 6:25 pm

      Thank you Mona! The picture is of the flower “cereus”

  2. Eric Alagan May 28, 2013 / 5:50 pm

    To have, to hold and to love – once a year – that is precious and intense indeed and bitter sweet too, I reckon.

    Peace,
    Eric

    • soumyav May 28, 2013 / 6:26 pm

      Very true Eric! as I started writing this,I came to glance over this wonderful flower of Cereus ,called the queen of night, the words just flowed then . And the life of a single night could could not be contained in my few lines yet I tried.

  3. vishalbheeroo May 28, 2013 / 5:52 pm

    Beautiful and potent words say lotsa things on desire and state of being a woman, her wishes and feelings:) She has nobody to say but herself. Others may condemn her for being a nite lover but her tender heart understands her completely coz the heart knows she does nothing wrong but fulfil her desires. There is no repression in her love and for what she believes in:)
    Superb Soumya:)
    Vishal

    • soumyav May 28, 2013 / 6:29 pm

      Thank you Vishal and you gave a exact metaphorical example to my verse. I did write it as the soul of that nightflower which blooms for a night and dies before dawn ,just once a year. And I could see the pain and the beauty it held within . The wondrous flower does reflect the feelings and you deciphered the verse perfectly.

      • vishalbheeroo May 28, 2013 / 6:31 pm

        Thanks a ton. I take a bow for understanding ur interpretation perfectly. Like-minded souls connect:)

  4. Madhu May 28, 2013 / 6:06 pm

    Lovely! A brief but wondrous existence!

    • soumyav May 28, 2013 / 6:30 pm

      Very true Madhu,a real wondrous existence!

  5. Sofia Siberia May 28, 2013 / 9:32 pm

    Beautiful! I often think my best thoughts on the silent banks of the river.. There you tune in with that serenity and beauty of creation and get the best answers from the invisible fairies of nature that reign there around and probably live in such flowers!🙂

    • soumyav May 29, 2013 / 10:42 am

      You summed it beautifully my thoughts emerging Sofia! The serene waters do have the voice of those invisible angels who let us hear the unspoken words . Iam really glad you heard my voice too in between the lines of this verse.

  6. Manu Kurup May 29, 2013 / 10:45 am

    I guess the tears turned into beautiful pearls of poetry.🙂

    • soumyav May 29, 2013 / 10:56 am

      Ha ha!😀😀 ! tht was a nice one!

      • Manu Kurup May 29, 2013 / 11:36 am

        😀

  7. Rachna May 29, 2013 / 1:24 pm

    Beautiful Poem Soumya! I did not know about this flower….thanks for writing such lovely lines for night blooming flower!

    • soumyav May 29, 2013 / 2:42 pm

      Thank you Rachna,I too found it while reading… but had heard about it in stories.

  8. msuzanneb May 29, 2013 / 4:49 pm

    Such a beautiful flower is deserving of such a lovely poem…I never knew it existed so thank you for sharing it. Namaste, mary

    • soumyav May 30, 2013 / 10:42 am

      My pleasure Mary,I too had heard about such but never knew what and how it was! I was really spellbound by the beauty

  9. Trisha Dey May 29, 2013 / 5:57 pm

    Wow! I could easily visualize our thoughts and could also feel the glory hidden within the pain! Good one Soumya ji! Somehow complex emotions always tend to attract me more!😉

    • soumyav May 30, 2013 / 10:43 am

      Thanks Trisha! ya ! this mystifying flower does instigate complex emotions …. and so my verse came to life.

  10. Trisha Dey May 29, 2013 / 6:00 pm

    Oops! I meant I could easily visualize your thoughts!🙂

    • soumyav May 30, 2013 / 10:43 am

      Its ok…it is ours! 🙂

  11. Wendell A. Brown May 30, 2013 / 2:00 am

    So very stunning is the blend of the golden image and the embrace of your exquisite words that flow ceaselessly from within your heart! Everyday I find myself blessed by another jewel and this one stands alone in a very awe-inspiring way! Your are always a true blessing Soumyav! Spiritual blessings and hugs to you always!

    • soumyav May 30, 2013 / 10:45 am

      Iam ever blessed by your wishes everyday Wendell. The real beauty of nature which is hidden in such delicate matters and the vastness around evokes such response in words .. and I feel gifted that I can think of writing abt them

  12. qiquan May 30, 2013 / 10:26 am

    Your writings are often full of love from a Woman, and I love the feeling of love! I did not know there is such kind of flower until I am reading your poem now, and its fruit is called the dragon fruit! All along I see the dragon fruit but never try to find out about it. Thank you!

    kc

    • soumyav May 30, 2013 / 10:30 am

      Thanks a lot ! Ya this is a kind of plant which fruits dragon fruit,often the same genes but different species. The thought of blooming for a night and withering at dawn is really different and tht too the flower is so gorgeous. Glad now u would look for the flower too along with the fruit!🙂

  13. memento mori May 31, 2013 / 2:56 am

    Beautifully-gentle flows in between the pauses. This mysterious power of the deep contemplation within oneself to break into speech astonishes and then delights the monologue into a dialogue – and in the interior realm does the conversation charm its’ presence.
    A great visual treat to see after many weeks of an absent me at the blogsphere – thus, I reckon to need more visits to catch up – shall do thus in time. xx

    • soumyav June 1, 2013 / 2:33 pm

      nothing more delightful to see you loved this ! for there will be surely more such treat for you in future! A flower radiant which reminded me of a person’s radiance and elegance…his/her passion to live life fully .

  14. Insight June 1, 2013 / 8:52 am

    Awww…! Beautifully written.🙂🙂

    Rahul

    • soumyav June 1, 2013 / 2:33 pm

      Thanks a lot Rahul!🙂

  15. Tapish June 2, 2013 / 9:56 pm

    Oh that was one awesome read. So beautifully written. The way one para flows into another… lovely!🙂
    I didn’t know about Cereus. Great to know this!

    • soumyav June 3, 2013 / 9:37 am

      I too was unaware of it but had heard about some flower like such.when I wrote and found this more thoughts flowed..

  16. drsuraiyanasim June 2, 2013 / 11:40 pm

    Heartbreakingly lovely saumi……i can so connect to the depth of emotions expressed thru a flower. Only you can write such gems! I feel sorry for being so busy as to miss your evergreen expressions.

    • soumyav June 3, 2013 / 9:34 am

      I am delighted to see you back Suri. And can very well know that you gt connected wth this. Hope you are doing fine . It has been a very long time since you were here.

  17. fgassette June 4, 2013 / 2:46 pm

    BEAUTIFULLY EXPRESSED AND PHOTOGRAPHED.

    Thank you for visiting my blog today. I appreciate the time you took to stop by. May your day be filled with joy and peace.
    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

share your suggestions,comments and thoughts on this ...

