THE FENCE


PHOTOCREDIT:10steps.sg

23

 

 

Through the gates of the cricket fence,

I walked thousand steps

More or less I dare not count and guess

for the living

I went ahead in the woods unknown ,

in search of some wood to be  burn instead of coal!

 

The orange glow filled the place

with  light of hope and faith

I walked and trotted so as

to reach near the burning fire-lake!

 

As I stretched my arms

to touch the ball of effulgence

it moved back and I moved forth

a play of childhood began

….meanwhile

I forgot

I was there on an errand…

 

 

Smiled he , when I got tired

as I sat under the tree’s shade

slowly it too faded behind

the thousand trees

“which I needed for the fire

Of the evening meal!”

 

 

19 thoughts on “THE FENCE

  1. Uzoma May 14, 2013 / 11:48 pm

    Gorgeous image, Soumyav. The narrative reminds me of then times when the sun and its orange face in harmattan. You have a way of creating beauty with words.

    • soumyav May 15, 2013 / 12:16 am

      Thanks a lot Uzo for connecting with the feel of the poem. I could feel the strong gush in your words when you talked about harmattan here!

  2. Trisha Dey May 14, 2013 / 11:56 pm

    Wow! I travelled to that distant place looking through your eyes! You’ve expressed it beautifully Soumya ji! Very natural yet enchanting- That constant fight to hold on to the ever-floating moments of life!

    • soumyav May 15, 2013 / 12:17 am

      True Trisha ,the real facts of life hold onto us till the last even if try to run away or skip the moments for sometime,the harsh reality stops us at every step!

  3. purpleraysblog May 14, 2013 / 11:59 pm

    Felt like a beautiful dream, an inner experiencing, that you still have to wake up to the cares of life. Thanks for breathing life into simple words.

    • soumyav May 15, 2013 / 12:19 am

      Yes Udo,even after every spiritual awakening or realization,life has its own way of moving and we have to hear its needs or get into it to remain connected !

  4. vishalbheeroo May 15, 2013 / 1:58 am

    Effortless poem. Love the image and how u conjured a beautiful poem. One of ur best works and I love it a lot:)

    • soumyav May 16, 2013 / 3:19 pm

      Iam touched to hear that you liked this !

      • vishalbheeroo May 16, 2013 / 5:39 pm

        entirely ma pleasure. U make life beautiful:)

  5. Manu Kurup May 15, 2013 / 6:09 am

    brilliant imagery, Soumya. I was captivated till the end and I wanted it to be longer.🙂

    • soumyav May 16, 2013 / 3:17 pm

      Thank you Manu ,guess I would have to then go more deeper in the woods then ,getting lost somewhere!😉

  6. Wendell A. Brown May 15, 2013 / 8:41 am

    One of the most beautiful images I have ever seen! It is truly breathtaking and your words blend to make it such a lovely treasure Soumyav! So awesomely done!

    • soumyav May 16, 2013 / 3:16 pm

      Iam obliged Wendell you found the piece so loving!

  7. Christy Birmingham May 15, 2013 / 10:05 pm

    You are in the woods, trying to find your way. I hope your fire of creativity burns for a long time to come x

    • soumyav May 16, 2013 / 3:15 pm

      What a splendid perspective Christy! Thank you for reading it so deeply!

share your suggestions,comments and thoughts on this ...

