ALONE


English: Leaving traces on soft sand dunes in ...
(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In the middle of the desert,

I stand alone,

amidst the whirling sands of time,

in shape of turbulent sandstorm,

eroding the particles to distant zones…

 

How far they reach! where from they arrive!

Hitherto was a blanket quiet ,

sometimes cool ,sometimes hot,

where silent golden specks slept,

under the vast expanse .

 

I gaze in awe ,

I get surprised,

I get frightened…

Standing alone…

in the middle of the desert.

 

I smile for a while,

I weep in anguish,

I cry in pain,

Still I stand alone…

in the middle of the desert!

 

Grains of sand  get blown away,

along my sides with friction,

leaving me standing alone…

in the middle of the desert!

 

Can I get my moment back,

lost in this golden sands,

when I won’t have to

stand alone ..

come whatever can!

 

32 thoughts on “ALONE

  1. JasmineKyleSings January 30, 2013 / 5:29 pm

    Not one of my favorite ones… I don’t like smiling and then crying. It’s to sad to be in that much pain.

    • soumyav January 30, 2013 / 5:34 pm

      I know dear,but sometimes its the reality!

    • soumyav January 30, 2013 / 6:29 pm

      Thank you Shawn! its great to see you and am happy you enjoyed the lines!

  2. meholysmile January 30, 2013 / 8:33 pm

    Beautiful poem. I simply loved it.

  3. muZer January 30, 2013 / 10:05 pm

    Nobody would want to feel that way.. But some times by being alone one gets their greatest strength.. The emotions come pouring out with this one.. Lovely lines, Soumya.

    • soumyav January 30, 2013 / 11:10 pm

      very true ! its the solitude that sometimes makes us realize what we are and why?thanks

  4. Eric January 31, 2013 / 3:33 am

    Like your poem. We will send out the French Foreign Legion for you, Soumya!😉

    • soumyav January 31, 2013 / 9:37 am

      😀 Ha ha! guess they have more important assignments than any of such!

  5. tornadoday January 31, 2013 / 8:25 am

    ……..beautiful and yet one that tugs on the heart……..but then again, love makes sweet and sad the same…….. I love this, Soumyav. ~ Ever, Bobbie

    • soumyav January 31, 2013 / 9:38 am

      Thank you Bobbie for feeling the emotions and for the sweet soothing words!

    • soumyav January 31, 2013 / 1:35 pm

      glad you liked it!

  6. Blood-Ink-Diary February 1, 2013 / 3:16 am

    Piercingly honest. Feelings of angst and silent surrender creates a lasting impression in this poem. I like your ‘ink’. Cheers.

    • soumyav February 1, 2013 / 6:46 pm

      your words fill the void and the roughness in between.Thanks for the warmth

      • Blood-Ink-Diary February 2, 2013 / 5:56 am

        In between the cracks and crevices, there is a womb of resilience – especially at roughness. Lots of love.

        • soumyav February 2, 2013 / 11:09 am

          your words themselves smoothen the cracks

          • Blood-Ink-Diary February 2, 2013 / 11:34 am

            Actually, it is your poem that tugs at my heart – your words.

  7. Britton February 3, 2013 / 4:48 am

    I became little emotional while reading these lines, dunno why? Is that becoz of the melodious song tha’s playing as a background-score? Not really. Hey, it touches me. By the way desert is a perfect metaphor!! :)

    • soumyav February 3, 2013 / 9:31 am

      Seems you got drowned in the melody of the metaphor! its great to see that the lines touched you,Britton!

  8. Uzoma February 3, 2013 / 3:05 pm

    Your poetic words hit my core. I pray to sit beside you someday and learn from the bounty of your wisdom.

    • soumyav February 3, 2013 / 3:08 pm

      Thts an honour Uzo! Iam overwhelmed that my words could touch your core and spirit!

  9. The Other Side of Ugly February 4, 2013 / 11:22 am

    Happy and sad emotions my precious. Makes me know alive and you are my friend. XO Sheri

    • soumyav February 4, 2013 / 11:24 am

      Yes Sheri! mixed feelings flowed here! Thanks

  10. nightlake February 4, 2013 / 2:58 pm

    emotional and descriptive

share your suggestions,comments and thoughts on this ...

